Departament of Education

Organizational Structure

Vocational training is the series of studies that is most closely linked to professional occupations and the job market, and nowadays is interpreted as being an active life-long process for people; vocational training is understood to be not only the typical “formal training” of youngsters of school age, but also “training for work” aimed at active workers or the professional “recognition of competence”.
Vocational training offers about 170 different qualifications, among three levels: basic, intermediate and advanced, that aim to ensure that people achieve professional competence and can aspire to obtain skilled jobs. The various qualifications are grouped together in professional families and are made up of subjects called “modules” with theoretical and practical contents, including a stage of internships in a company.
A training cycle is formal training completed by theoretical-practical knowledge with regard to a professional field, aimed at developing professional competences in this field.

The teaching of Vocational Training in the education system is arranged into:

  • Basic Vocational Training Cycles.
  • Intermediate Level Training Cycles.
  • Advanced Level Training Cycles.
  • Specialisation programmes.

People who complete their studies will obtain, respectively, a qualification as a:

  • Basic Professional, which allows them to take an Intermediate Level Training Cycle.
  • Technician, which allows them to take Advanced level Training Cycles.
  • Advanced Technician, which allows them to take related university degrees.

A training cycle lasts for 2000 hours (except for certain residual exceptions of 1400 and 1700 hours). This length of time is divided into two academic years.
Approximately from 400 to 600 hours are devoted to compulsory internships in companies.

Last modified date: